Chicken and Cheese Lasagna Roll-ups

roll ups 018

Delicious. Take a look at that. Yes, I like a lot of cheese. You don’t have to add so much. But I love it. If you want some tasty Chicken and Cheese Lasagna Roll-ups, here’s how you do it!

You will need:

  • 3 cups shredded cooked chicken (go here to see how I do mine quickly and easily)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup Ricotta cheese
  • 1/8 teaspoon white pepper (yes, you can use black pepper)
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Feta cheese (plus more for topping)
  • 8 whole wheat lasagna noodles, cooked and drained (no, you don’t have to use whole wheat – but why not?)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (plus more for topping)
  • 2 cups pasta sauce of your choice (I always use SimplyNature Marinara from Aldi)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Put noodles on to cook, according to package directions
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
  3. In a medium bowl, combine shredded chicken, cheeses, milk, and pepper
  4. In a 13×9-inch baking dish, spread 1 cup of the pasta sauce
  5. Spread a little less than 1/2 cup of the chicken and cheese mixture on each lasagna noodle
  6. Roll in a jelly-roll like fashion….
  7. Arrange lasagna noodles seam-side down in baking dish on top of the pasta sauce
  8. Top with remaining pasta sauce
  9. Sprinkle feta cheese on each lasagna roll
  10. Cover with foil
  11. Bake for 30 minutes
  12. Serve with additional Parmesan cheese. 

I sprinkle the extra Parmesan on right before serving. The ones I saved as leftovers don’t have the Parmesan on them yet – I sprinkle it on after I reheat it. It’s best that way. 

Also, a side note on the lasagna noodles. When they were done cooking I took them off the burner but left them in the water. I took them out one at a time to put the mixture on them and roll them. That way they didn’t get all sticky together while they waited their turn. 

Here are some pictures of the process!

This is the 1 cup of pasta sauce spread on the bottom of the pan. 

roll ups 008

This is how I spread the mixture. I took 2 noodles out and worked on the one closest to me while the one farther away cooled. After I rolled the filled one, I turned over the one farther from me and put it closest to me to work on next, and took the next noodle out of the pan (that still has the noodles and water in it) and let it start to cool while I worked on the one closest to me.

roll ups 011

Here it is right before I covered it with foil to put it in the oven.

roll ups 013

The deliciousness covered in the Parmesan cheese, about to be consumed!

roll ups 017

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

