Peanut Butter Blondies

food 016

Yum, yum, yum! I’m at home and I have a lot of work to do. I’m a teacher. As my friend Cara put it: “yea, your job never ends.”

But I don’t want to do it…so I go to Pinterest to see what I want to cook this coming week so I can make a grocery list. You see, I used to be on Pinterest WAY TOO OFTEN. So now I have tons of stuff pinned! But in the past 6 months or so, I haven’t really pinned much, I mostly just go there to make, do, and use all of the pins I have already! It’s so great. 

So, I ended up on my dessert board somehow, and wanted to bake something all of a sudden. I needed to find something I already had all the ingredients for – and there it was! Peanut Butter Blondies!

They turned out SO GOOD and they were delightfully easy to make, so I wanted to share with y’all! Even the edges are delicious, which is totally key. They are soft in the middle – so perfect!

So, here you go!

To make the peanut butter blondies, you will need:

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Spray 8×8 baking dish cooking spray. Just let that wait, now…
  3. In a large bowl (I used my Kitchen Aid with my scraper bowl attachment), combine the melted butter and light brown sugar. Mix thoroughly.
  4. Add in the egg and vanilla extract.
  5. Mix in the peanut butter and make sure all of the wet ingredients are thoroughly mixed.
  6. Add in the salt and flour.
  7. Spread the batter in the baking dish and spread out evenly with a plastic spatula.
  8. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the middle comes out clean. I set my timer for 20 minutes, but it wasn’t quite done. So I set the timer for 5 more minutes…but I was busy when the timer went off, so it was more like 27 minutes. 
  9. Let it cool A LOT before you cut it. It can be a little bit warm, but don’t do it when it’s still so hot or else they will fall apart. 
  10. Enjoy with a glass of milk!

This can maybe show you how thick the batter is….when you put it in, it’s in a big pile and you just have to spread it around.

food 008

I had to spread it smoothly before it went into the oven…

food 010

Because as soon as it comes out, it has the same pattern as when you put it in! Well, I can see it. Pretty cool.

food 011

My first taste was delicious….I love my little pig spatula!

food 012

Delicious! 

food 015

food 014

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

