A Sitting Apparatus or Two

When I moved into this apartment, I realized I needed a place to sit and eat. I didn’t want a table and chairs…no room for that in my apartment. I just wanted a sitting apparatus (actually, 2) to put up against the counter ledge that juts out a bit. But because I had just moved, I didn’t have a lot of money to buy them. 

But then I saw the pile of things that were waiting to be hung on the bare walls, and I remembered my $5 savings plan!!! I couldn’t believe I had $240, since I had spent 4 months that year in Romania and Ireland (where I wasn’t adding to my $5 savings plan at all since I was using a different currency). Yet alas, here it was! And I had $240!

IMG_5245

IMG_5247

I wasn’t sure how much I would need, but I had it!

If you don’t know what the $5 savings plan is, click here to read about it. 

Well, I set out with the Solises to Trader’s Village (a flea market here in Houston) to find some! 

Natalie had fun counting my $5 bills on the way there…

IMG_5670

I only found one that I semi-liked…

IMG_5677

But here’s the thing…I wanted ones that spin. I had qualifications (1) must spin (2) must have a back (3) must have that leather(-like) seat, not fabric or wood.

So that wouldn’t do. 

Kept looking, and found one!

10751691_10154801777050254_2033832561_n

I was glad that Aldo was with me, because he speaks Spanish and could barter for me…

The whole time, I was updating my friend Teo on my progress. When we found this one, this conversation ensued:

Aldo: I like them
Me: Me, too.
Aldo: I hope Teo likes them.
Me: I’ll send her a picture.
Aldo: You’re crazy.

So I sent her a picture, and she approved! Opinions matter. 

Aldo talked down the price to $108 for both of the chairs that are there, since they are the display ones and had some imperfections from everyone sitting on them and moving them around. Or I could buy them new and get them next week and have to put them together, for $145. 

SOOO I said I’d think about it. 

We walked around and got some other stuff (I scored on some Christmas presents!) and then I decided to buy them new! I would have to put them together and wait a week, but I would have them without blemishes, and that was nice. 

So I pulled out my $5 bills and paid! The guy was surprised, and I was proud. I love using my $5 savings plan!

I picked them up a week later, and Clara helped me put them together!

IMG_5830 IMG_5831

Here they are, in all their glory!

chairs 001 chairs 002 chairs 003 chairs 004

The best part! I only used $145 of my $240! I still had money left in my $5 savings plan, for the next time!

Click here if you want to learn more about the $5 savings plan!

Click below to see the other things I’ve bought with my $5 savings plan:
Kitchen Aid
Harry Potter Wizard’s Collection
Porch Glider and Table

2 Comments

Filed under Happenings

2 responses to “A Sitting Apparatus or Two

  1. Laurene Stevens

    I am proud of you my favorite granddaughter named Chloe! You are adorable, wise and I love you!

  2. seri

    I love your blog! I am so happy that I came across it. I would love for you to stop by mine! I think you would enjoy it.

    -Seri from http://www.Serisblog.com

Leave a Reply

