Captivated by Books

I love holding a book in my hands, getting cozy, and reading.
I also love doing whatever I feel like (cooking, cleaning, resting) and listening to an audio book.

Even when I am here in Romania, I take time to read.

There are some books that captivate me no matter how many times I re-read them.

Namely, Harry Potter.

I just finished re-reading (well, listening to) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince with my roommate. And every time I re-read the part where Dumbledore dies, I can’t help but cry. If it’s an audio book, I can’t multitask during the part where they are in the astronomy tower and Snape kills Dumbledore, when they are with Hagrid and he finds out what happened, and when they are in the hospital wing afterwards.

I simply can’t. It is sad every time and I feel like I need to devote my full attention to times like that.

When we were at the beginning of the book, I asked my roommate “Wait, is this the one where Dobby dies? Or is that the next one?” She assured me that it’s the next one, and I said “Oh, good. I’m glad Dobby is still alive.” I later remembered that it couldn’t have been this one because he dies while they are searching for the Deathly Hallows.

Even though Cedric, Sirius,  Dumbledore, Hedwig, Dobby, Fred, and Snape die each time I read the books or watch the movies, it is still sad every time. And if I don’t actually cry, I at least shed a tear. And when I read an earlier book, I am glad they are still alive.

How do books have the power to captivate us over and over again?

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts, Travels

One response to “Captivated by Books

  1. That is one questions no one can answer. I guess it has something to do with ‘magic’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

