The Freshman & The Super Senior

My roommate Madeline and I are very different….yet we love each other just the same!

RoomiesThat’s me on the left, and Madeline on the right.
As of this post, we have lived together for 13 days.
We are both doing the same internship in Romania.
That’s how we met. 

College:
Madeline: Freshman

Me: Super Senior (5th year)

We have to leave by 7:30 to get to the orphanage on time:
Madeline: I need sleep! I haven’t gotten up this early since early morning seminary in high school! I don’t know how I’m gonna do this.

Me: I got this. I worked early morning custodial for 22 months (4am-7:30am) during college. And I’ve been getting up before 7 for most of my college career.

Ceapa (onions):
Madeline: Oh, and we can put onions in it!

Me: Or we can just pretend onions don’t exist!

Buying things:
Madeline: We should add that to the grocery list.

Me: Do we really need it? I’m all about the cheap life…saving money….

Pink:
Madeline: Should we get the blue one or the…oh wait…

Me: PINK!!!!!!!! Get the pink one! Get all the pink things!

Chocolate:
Madeline: This is amazing! We may need to get some every week.

Me: Well..
Madeline: Okay, semi-weekly then.
Me: I was thinking more like every other week…
Madeline: Ok, well I will buy it every week, and you will just be jealous.

Me: Again, the cheap life.

Family contact:
Madeline: I email my family every night about what happens.

Me: I emailed my mom last week and she still hasn’t responded…and I’ll probably email her next week…I’ll just probably tell her all about it when I get home. 

Chicken:
Madeline: I don’t want to cook the chicken since we don’t know how to use the oven yet.

Me: We could learn…or we could cook it on the stove….
[I proceeded to teach her how to cook chicken on the stove]

Apartment:
Madeline: It’s so cool! It has a fridge! And look, our own stove and washing machine and sink!

Me: Is this your first apartment?
Madeline: Yes!!
Me: Ah. I see. I moved out like 7 years ago…which is probably why I’m not as excited as you are…

The first time rain was in the forecast:
Madeline: I need to find my umbrella before we leave

Me: Don’t worry, I already have mine. It’s big enough for both of us.
[We were out walking, it started raining, so I pull out my umbrella]
Me: Look, it’s rainbow colored!
Madeline: Oh my gosh, I’m doomed. That screams “I’m American!” They told us to try and blend in! Put it away!
Me: Are you for reals right now? It’s raining, and you want me to put it away?
Madeline: Uhm…yeah….
Me: But it’s so pretty! Look at all the colors! You know what, you’re right.

Umbrella:
Me: Look, the little shops on our block sell umbrellas! I’ll go buy an acceptable one.

[We go down to one of the vendors with umbrellas]
Me: This one is dark and has flowers…is that okay?
Madeline: There’s a pink one…
Me: PINK!!! 
[I proceed to buy a plastic pink umbrella, and I am thrilled! Madeline approved!]
[Walking away, her with her black umbrella, me with my pink one]

Me: Thanks for letting me buy the pink umbrella, and letting me use it!
Madeline: You were just SO HAPPY that it was pink. And it’s Romanian. How could I not let you?

Hair:
Madeline: Short straight pixie cut

Me: Medium length and curly

Fashion:
Madeline: I just LOVE European fashion, it’s so pretty!

Me: I don’t care about fashion, I just do what I want.

Grocery list:
Madeline: Oh, let’s write that on the list

Me: Oh, it’s gotta be in Romanian! Where’s the dictionary?

Bell peppers:
Me: Oh, and let’s add bell peppers!

Madeline: Let’s pretend they don’t exist!

What DO we have in common? We both love the Milka raspberry crème chocolate bars. And Kinder Surprises.

I LOVE THIS GIRL.

Chipmunk Roomies

3 Comments

Filed under Travels

3 responses to “The Freshman & The Super Senior

  1. Laurene Stevens

    you are both adorable! I love your running commentary!

  2. Kathy Bonds

    Hi, Chloe. It’s Kathy. Danielle’s teaching partner. She shared your letter with me. I hope that’s ok. I think you are fabulous and I’m so excited to hear how things are going.

Leave a Reply

