It’s Amazing

I got to sleep while flying over the Atlantic Ocean. I just want to invite you to think about how INCREDIBLE that is! My body was in a state of peaceful slumber as I crossed the Atlantic Ocean…without even getting wet!! Well, except for when I spilled some water on myself, but we don’t have to count that.

Flying is incredible. I am grateful that I am not scared of airplanes. Instead, I look forward to my time in an airplane! I have two favorite parts – takeoff and landing. Whatever seat I am in, I am staring out the window during those two times. It is unbelievable how we can speed up so quickly, and then all of a sudden the front wheels are off the ground. Then the back wheels are off the ground. And you can feel yourself on an incline as you climb through the air, higher and higher, watching the details of the lives of millions of people below become smaller and smaller until they disappear behind a cloud. A cloud. IT BLOWS MY MIND.

Turbulence is actually rather exciting for me. I imagine it’s how a flamingo feels as it flies through windy air. Sorry if turbulence worries you…

And then landing…I get so excited when the pilot (or is it the copilot?) announces the final descent. Not because I can’t wait to get off the plant (though often yes, I can’t wait to see people or places that I love), but because it means that one of my favorite feelings is coming. As you get closer to the ground, you can see the details of the lives of millions of OTHER people coming into focus. The crazy, wonderful intricacies of everyday life come back into view. And then as we near the runway, I get so excited once again! And as the wheels touch the ground I get this feeling that I can’t explain. But if that feeling had words, they might poetically be “Wow. I just did that.”

If the guy next to me on the flight as I wrote this spoke more English, or if I spoke more (or any) French, I just might have told him all about this.

I also got to cross the night/day line…usually it comes to me. But on Friday, I came to it. Here’s to 30 hours and 30 minutes of total travel time. That’s a record for me.

You may see it as little things…takeoff and landing in an airplane. Something that happens every day, in airports all across the world, to millions of humans.

I, however, see it as something unbelievably wonderful that happens to me every once in a while. It’s kind of like a dream. And I deserve it.

(If the music video looks a little choppy, that’s because it’s made entirely from 25,632 photographs)

Nothing can compare to deserving your dreams.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts, Travels

Leave a Reply

