Learning Romanian

So, as the title suggests, I am currently learning Romanian!

It’ll be my third language, which is exciting for me!

But listen….IT IS SO HARD!!! Why don’t I remember ASL being this hard to learn??

Maybe because ASL doesn’t have a written component, but Romanian does?
Maybe because ASL doesn’t have conjugations, but Romanian does?

Well whatever it is, it makes me want to cry.

I was sitting in class yesterday and we were reviewing what we learned Monday, then adding a bunch of stuff. Maria, the teacher would ask a question, and the class would answer as a chorus as I sat there confused as to how they knew what she even asked. 

I was seriously about to cry.

No, this isn’t an immersion class, so it’s not all in Romanian, but sometimes she does only speak in Romanian. Like one time we were working in partners…she said something to the class and I was like “what??” but a few people got up and moved and I looked at her confused. She repeated it 2 more times as I sat there looking confused…and then she pointed to me and then pointed to my seat I had been in earlier….OH! We were done working in partners…time to go back to my seat. Why didn’t I get the hint when other people got up and moved? #eyeroll 

I was seriously about to cry again. 

Then she handed out a new paper with a dialogue between two people, and asked for a “voluntar” to read the first character. All in Romanian, of course. I understood “voluntar” because it sounds like volunteer, and she pointed the the first part when she said it, so I got that as well. I raised my hand, thinking that speaking would keep me from busting in to tears, and the first character had more lines, so that was good. So she pointed to me, then found a voluntar to read the other character’s part, and I read…

f 012

So, I stumbled through it. And when I was done…
Maria: Have you had contact with Romanian before?
Me: No, but I’m about to cry… (giggles from class….I don’t think they knew I was serious…)
Maria: That was really good!

And boy, did I feel FANTASTIC after that!

A compliment goes a long way. 

Homework?

Describe yourself in five sentences. Then describe two other members of your family in five more sentences.

And 30 minutes later, what had I accomplished?

  • Produced the shortest 10 sentences of my life
  • Looked through all my notes at least 2 times as I tried to figure it all out
  • And this…

f 013

NAILED IT.

Yes, that took me 30 minutes. But boy, am I proud of it.

2 Comments

Filed under School

2 responses to “Learning Romanian

  1. I feel like I could learn Romanian. From what you posted here, and from listening to some Romanian customers that I have at the bank sometimes, it sounds like it’s very similar to Spanish.

    • Yes, it is very similar to Spanish! On the first day, our teacher told us that it is a romance language, and if you already know Spanish then it will be easier to learn Romanian. Unfortunately, 3 years of Spanish in high school didn’t leave me with much but low conversational skills….

Leave a Reply

