My New Kitchen Aid!!

I’ve been doing The Five-Dollar Savings Plan (learn more about that at this link) for over a year now…I’ve been saving up for a Classic Kitchen Aid! I love to bake, so it’s always been a dream of mine to own my own Kitchen Aid…

It basically felt like I was getting it for free…because the amount in my bank account stayed the same…it was all from the shadow box on my wall! That’s the beauty of The Five-Dollar Savings Plan. I can spend money on myself once a year without feeling bad about it!

Here’s the story:

About a month ago I was at Costco with  my brother Ethan. We were on the appliances aisle because he was looking for a juicer, and I saw a Classic Kitchen Aid for only $199!!! I was super stoked, because I was up to $185 with my $5 savings plan, so I knew I could get it within the next couple months!

So I kept on saving and saving…well, mostly waiting…

And this weekend I got it! 

034

Somehow I lost count, because it turns out there was only $205 in there…but that’s okay because what I was about to buy was only $200…and I can afford a bit of tax.

So I grabbed my 2 good friends Kelsey and Makenzie, and we went to Costco!

039

Come to find out…they don’t have it anymore. They only had the Professional Kitchen Aid for like $350. I even asked an employee…he checked the system and everything…nada.

I left feeling very depressed and rejected.

046

But then decided to call around….

047Williams-Sonoma had a Classic Kitchen Aid for about $350, with a $30 mail-in rebate. NO THANK YOU.
I called 2 more Costco locations…and they didn’t have it either…LAME.
Then I called Wal-Mart…and they had a Classic Kitchen Aid for $199! 

So naturally, we rushed there…

048

And I think the pictures can tell the next part of the story…

049

050

051

054

Chris was a very nice lady who was workin’ the lucky register today! (We avoided the self-checkout…I didn’t want to put 41 $5 bills into the cash receiver thing….headache!)

Chris could tell that I was in a VERY good mood, and I explained why…I explained the Five Dollar Savings Plan and that I’d been saving for about 14 months…and I finally got my dream! She thought it was one of the coolest things ever, and told the lady behind her about me. I felt pretty cool.

Me and Kelsey!

056

Me and Makenzie!

057

Then I dropped off those two wonderful ladies at school (UVU) and went home to play with my new toy!

060

I was SO HAPPY!!! Here’s what I made…

074

Want to know what kind of cupcakes those are? Well….you might want to sit down…it’s pretty weird. Ok, ready?

Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes with Avocado Buttercream Icing

Curious? Go here to learn more…

Click below to see other things I have bought with my $5 savings plan:
Harry Potter Wizard’s Collection
A sitting apparatus…well, 2
A porch glider and table

4 Comments

Filed under Happenings

4 responses to “My New Kitchen Aid!!

  1. Mamachica

    Girl, I am SO proud of you. That’s awesome that you made a goal and achieved it. You are so cool. Do you sleep by it now?

  2. Martha Villarubia

    I know I’m a little late, like 2 years late. But I enjoyed your story of
    The five dollar saving plan so much that I’m going to try it!
    YOU GO GIRL!!!

Leave a Reply

