American Sign Language at BYU

Last semester I was a member of ASL Club….I went to a meeting at the end of the semester when they were electing new officers. I was not about to run. I was taking 17.5 credits and I was president of BYU SCEC (Student Council for Exceptional Children), which is another club on campus.
So I entered that meeting with no intention of running.
Then I decided to run for Vice President…and what do you know?
I walked out as President of ASL Club. 

I have learned so much since then! My officers (Diana, Melissa, Liz, and Seth) are supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, which is such a relief. They are very willing to help with anything. PLUS, we have a stellar advisor, Trish – she’s a superstar! I have learned so much about time management. I have such a busy schedule (who doesn’t, though?), so managing the meetings and planning has been fun…I really do love it, though. Also, I wasn’t able to take an ASL class this semester, so being President has helped me keep practicing!

I also love getting to know the other members of club. We have a pretty good turnout each week – between 20 and 30 people! Not bad!

Basically, I love it!

BYUTV came and recorded us a few weeks ago for the show BYU Weekly – here’s the final product! Enjoy!

-Chloe

2 Comments

Filed under Happenings, School

2 responses to “American Sign Language at BYU

  1. MamaChica

    I am SO proud of you my baby girl! You are my HERO! I need to make you a hot pink cape. Or some kind of vest or something. Or how bout some gold bracelets?

Leave a Reply

