Sheridan’s Speedy Rolls

THE MOST AMAZING ROLLS EVER.

Seriously. And it makes about 36 rolls! Could be more if you just make ’em all smaller…on this plate I’ve got a small, medium, and a large!

043

This recipe is from the kitchen of my friend Sheridan! She is on a mission in Peru right now for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints! I miss her dearly, but she will be back next month!! 

Here is a delightful picture of (left to right) Sheridan, Jenna, and me! From May 2011…

sheridan

This is the first time I had these rolls…back in May 2011…I was addicted…

rolls

Yep, that’s  Jenna…feeding the rolls to me. 

And this is me and Sheridan….studying on my old front porch like we like to do….

sheridan1

Ok, now you just want to know how to make Sheridan’s delicious rolls, right? Well here you go! 

You will need:
2 Tablespoons yeast
1 cup very warm water
1 cup warm water
1 cup milk
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup flour
5 or 6 cups flour

Here’ what you do:
1. Mix the yeast and 1 cup very warm water.
2. Set it aside.
3. Mix the 1 cup warm water, milk, sugar, eggs, salt, butter, and 1 cup flour.
4. Add the yeast and water mixture and mix it.

5. Add 5-6 cups of flour (Sheridan’s recipe said 5, but I usually end up adding up to 6 so it’s easier to work with)
6. Knead for 10-15 minutes.
7. Let rise for 1 hour.
8. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
9. Put flour on counter for rolling.
10. Split dough into two.
11. Roll flat in a circular shape.

004

00512. Using a pizza cutter, cut into pieces as shown…

00813. Starting with the wide side, roll  into a crescent shape.
14. Place on cookie sheet with tip side down.

011
15. Let rolls rise for 15 minutes on cookie sheet.
16. Bake for 12 minutes.
17. Let cool for about 2 minutes.
18. Transfer to cooling rack.
19. Eat as soon as you don’t think you will burn your mouth….they are so good!!!

046

Enjoy! I know you will!
Let me know if you have any questions!

Oh, a little tip! If it’s cold where you are…like it is here in Provo, UT, your rolls won’t rise as well…so I preheat the oven before I let the dough rise for an hour, and sit the bowl on top of the stove just so it’s in a warmer spot, and it works beautifully. 

 Here’s a way to spice up this perfect recipe…

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “Sheridan’s Speedy Rolls

  1. Sheridan Merkley

    I feel quite honored to be on your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

