Thick, Soft Sugar Cookies

I have officially found the PERFECT sugar cookie recipe!!!
They seriously melt in your mouth!

And it’s so easy! And it doesn’t need to chill!
If  you like thick, soft sugar cookies, then this is the only recipe you need.
The trick is to roll them out thick and bake them for less time than you think they need.
As far as how many cookies this makes, it really depends on how big your cookie cutters are. Mine were really varied, and each batch made about 40 or 45 cookies.

DSC08083

Even the icing recipe is perfect!

But we’ll start with the cookie recipe…

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 cup butter
2 cups white sugar

2 eggs
3 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
5 1/2 cups flour

Here’s what you do:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In mixer, cream butter and sugar
3. Add eggs
4. Add vanilla
5. Beat well
6. Mix in the sour cream
7. In a different bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.
8. Mix flour mixture into butter mixture (if it is too sticky to roll out, add more flour…1/4 cup at a time, until it’s good enough to roll out)
It was at this point that I really wanted a Kitchen Aid, because my wooden spoon broke! I couldn’t believe it! I mean, it was getting old, but seriously?! Luckily I have other wooden spoons…but I still want a Kitchen Aid really badly…
DSC080939. Roll out on floured surface to about 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick. Really.
DSC0809110. Place on cookie sheet. You can put them pretty close…mine were probably between an inch and 1/4 inch apart…
11. Bake for 7-8 minutes.THEY WILL NOT LOOK DONE! But don’t give in to your temptation to cook “just a little bit longer” or you will get crunchy cookies instead of soft, pillow-like cookies.
This is what mine looked like when I took them out of the oven:

DSC08099
They are still very pale and have no browning anywhere. If you have a golden brown color along the edges then you have baked them too long.

12. Wait about 5 minutes and then transfer carefully to a cooling rack. If you wait longer they will get soggy on the bottom.
13. Frost with icing (see recipe below) and decorate with sprinkles!

Now it’s time to make the icing!
I used a handheld electric mixer, because that’s what I have. My cooking buddy and best friend Michelle made this recipe, and said she used her Kitchen Aid and whipped the icing for 5 minutes and it turned out delicious. So it just depends on if you want whipped icing or regular! I prefer regular, but if you want whipped, then whip away!

Here’s what you need:
1/2 cup butter, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 to 1/3 cup milk

Here’s what you do:
1. In a mixing bowl, cream the butter.
2. Mix in the vanilla
3. Mix in the sugar until crumbly.
It will look something like this…
DSC08101
4. Gradually add milk until frosting reaches desired consistency
5. Add food coloring of your choice, if you so desire.
6. Frost your cookies!

I collect sprinkles…I seriously LOVE them. If you are feeling generous, but you can’t afford to buy me a Kitchen Aid, then sprinkles will always make me happy! (Update: I have a Kitchen Aid now! Read about it here!)
DSC08105
Its really that simple! And they turn out perfect every time. TRUST ME…I MADE THREE BATCHES IN FOUR DAYS.

I know, that’s a lot! But I made them last Sunday just to try out the recipe. My friend Jacey and I baked them, and then my friend Cara and I decorated them. And then I made them on Tuesday so I could bring them to my ASL class on Wednesday…and I made them again on Wednesday so I could bring them to my CPSE 463 (Assistive Technology for Students with Disabilities) class on Thursday….so there you have it…3 times in 4 days! They’re just so good, I want everyone to have some!!!

If you bake as much as I do, then you will definitely want tons of flour from Costco…I also get my powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and butter from Costco…things I always use when cooking!
DSC08092Here’s some personal favorites….Cara and I had so much fun decorating!
DSC08085

DSC08079

If you make some, please let me know how yours turned out!

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Thick, Soft Sugar Cookies

  1. Making them tomorrow with my little one…. I will post pics and let you know!! I appreciate the detailed recipe you have provided as I have never made dough or anything like these before. Very excited!!

  2. Turned out great!! Don’t know why I can’t post pics though. Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

