Crock Pot Cinnamon Almonds

These turned out SO GOOD! Don’t let the word Crock Pot fool you, though…you can’t just let these sit all day. They need a good stir every 20 minutes. BUT SO WORTH IT. I made them on a Sunday afternoon. My church meets from 8:30-11:30, so I am home by noon and still have half the day ahead of me! So I usually end up baking…and this was today’s creation (I found this recipe on Pinterest, here‘s the link to the original recipe)

You will need:
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
3 Tbsp cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 egg white
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 cups almonds
1/3 cup water

Here’s what you do…
1. In a medium-sized bowl, mix together sugars, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside. It will look like it’s WAY too much, but trust me, it works. I thought the same thing.
2. In another medium-sized bowl, whisk the egg white and vanilla together until it’s a little frothy.
3. Add almonds. Make sure almonds are thoroughly coated in the egg white mixture.
4. Add cinnamon mixture to the almonds.
5. Toss until coated
6. Thoroughly spray (with Pam) the stoneware of your crock pot (mine is 4 quarts and it was perfect).
7. Add the divine mixture of almonds and sugars to the crock pot and turn it to low.
8. Cook (with the lid on) for 2 hours, stirring every 20 minutes. A picture below will show you how I kept track of when to stir.
9. Add the 1/3 cup water and stir well. This ensures a crunchy, yummy coating.
10. Continue to cook for another hour, stirring every 20 minutes. You have to stir REALLY WELL, especially as it gets later in the cooking process.
11. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
12. Spread the almonds flat to cool. The almonds will be sticky at this point, so make sure you separate them a little and have no large mounds.
13. Enjoy your beautiful, crunchy, sugary, dark brown coated almonds!

Store in an airtight container, or, like me, snack-size Ziplock baggies so I can give some away, and do a little portion control!

Here’s how I kept track of when to stir, when to add water, and when it was done…sorry it’s sideways, but I’m using my roommate’s computer to write this post and don’t know how to work her photo editing program!

These make your whole house smell so cozy, inviting, and delicious. Also, they are great for gifts! Who wouldn’t love a bag of these, that’s what I’d like to know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

