6th Grade

I never really knew exactly why I am so interested in ASL and the Deaf community. And I still don’t know. But I did just gain some insight into myself…

I was reading through my mom’s journal entries today and found this from August 21, 2000. “Chloe seems to really enjoy 6th grade. She is making new friends, has no locker or schedule problems, and loves choir. She likes showing me what she learns. There are several Deaf girls in P.E. that she wants to become friends with. I taught her how to sign “my name is Chloe, your name is what?” but she hasn’t done it yet. It’s great that she wants to be friends with someone who is Deaf, I’m proud of her that she doesn’t fear them because they are different.”

I don’t remember much from before I was 16, so I am forever grateful to my mom for writing in a family journal.
I am curious to know if I ever did end up talking to them…I’ll have to call my mom and see if she knows!

Perhaps that’s what sparked my interest in ASL and the Deaf community…who knows! But here’s where I’m at today…no longer have to ask my mom about simple signs…I can teach her now! I am studying ASL at BYU and after I graduate in Special Education, I am going to go through an interpreter training program (haven’t decided where yet) and would love to get a Master’s degree in Deaf Education. I also volunteer a lot in the Deaf community and love every minute of it.

I’ve also changed a lot since 6th grade (obviously)! For example, I was at Win-Co a few weeks ago doing my usual grocery shopping and saw a Deaf couple…went right up to them and started a conversation – they were so happy to see that I knew ASL and seemed to be glad to see someone who didn’t just stop and stare at them (like others around were doing). Also, I felt pretty proud of myself and my skills. I still have a lot to learn, but I am getting there!
4 Comments

Filed under Family, Thoughts

4 responses to “6th Grade

  1. I have always been drawn to ASL I think it is amazing!

Leave a Reply

