Buttercream Icing

A few months ago, I got tired of buying icing for all my cupcakes.

So I began the search for a new recipe.

I took this recipe and altered it slightly: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/buttercream-icing/detail.aspx

And I love it! Here’s what you do!

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter, softened (2 sticks)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 cups powdered sugar

2 Tablespoons milk

Here’s what you do!

1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and vanilla.

2. Blend in the sugar, 1 cup at a time, blending well after each addition.

3. Beat in the milk.

4. Continue mixing until light and fluffy!

I always use it right after I make it, but if you will be using it later, keep it covered until ready to decorate.

With leftovers, I just refrigerate it until I need it again! When I need it, I let it sit out until it gets to room temperature and then I whip it fluffy!

So good, and it’s what I use on all my cupcakes!

Enjoy!

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Cupcakes

8 responses to “Buttercream Icing

  1. Claire Stewart

    What kind of butter would you recommend

    • I recommend unsalted butter. I just buy a generic brand from the grocery store – unsalted sweet cream butter (sticks, not in a tub). Just make sure you don’t use salted – we don’t want salt in our sweet icing 🙂
      Also, don’t use margarine…..seriously. In all of your baking, use real butter.
      Thanks for asking, I’ve edited the post so that it’s more clear!

  2. Claire Stewart

    Thank you 🙂 and just a large tin to bake it in?

    • Claire Stewart

      Sorry and what size of cup would you recommend?Im new to baking please excuse me 🙂

      • As for the size of cup, just use your regular measuring cups. The ones that have the measurements labeled on it.

        And don’t be sorry! I’m happy to answer any questions you have!

    • I use a large plastic (or stainless steel) mixing bowl. If you’re not sure how big of a bowl you will need, start with your biggest one. If it turns out that it was way too big, you can just use a smaller one next time. You don’t want to start too small and have to transfer it all to a bigger bowl half way through – I’ve had to do that before, and it’s a pain. So if you aren’t sure, just start with your largest mixing bowl.

  3. Claire Stewart

    Thanks,do you live in uk? As butter sticks av never heard of?

    • I live in the USA – I didn’t know that sticks of butter aren’t common in the UK! Interesting, and good to know! Just make sure you use 1 cup of butter, then. I still suggest unsalted. If you only have salted, it will work, but the icing will have a slight salty taste to it.

Leave a Reply

