Flower Cupcakes

Aren’t those just so cute! I found the idea on Pinterest! http://www.mccormick.com/Recipes/Desserts/Hello-Flower-Cupcakes.aspx

I was not aware that McCormick had recipes on their website…but obviously they do! I’ll be perusing around there more often now…. Here is how to make these adorable flower cupcakes…

You will need:

  • Cupcakes
  • Icing
  • Sprinkles
  • Marshmallows
  • Gumdrops
  • Shredded colored coconut (if so desired…I just had some left over from a previous project)
Wanna know how to color your shredded coconut? Just put the coconut into a plastic baggy, add some LIQUID food color, and shake it around! Add as much food coloring as you want to get your desired look as you go. Done. 

1. Make the cupcakes

First I made cupcakes. Because I am in Provo, UT, I have to make sure I alter them for high altitude…..I have made the mistake of NOT doing so, and I have not forgotten since then. Also, I always use Funfetti Pillsbury cake mix for my cupcakes….unless someone wants chocolate. But I don’t like chocolate cupcakes. I like Funfetti.  ALSO I always spray the cupcake lines with cooking spray (canola oil) before I add the batter. 

2. Make the icing

I had left over icing from my the minion cupcakes I made yesterday! https://byuflamingo.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/minion-cupcakes/

But I wanted green icing for the base of these cupcakes, so I added some gel food coloring until it was the hue I wanted.

3. Get your sprinkles ready

I LOVE SPRINKLES.

I always have an assortment on hand. 

I collect sprinkles.

If you are going to use only one kind of sprinkles for your flowers, then you will only need 2 bowls (1 for the green sugar sprinkles, and one for the petal sprinkles). But if you are going to do an assortment like I did, you will need lots of little bowls. 

Make sure you have a bowl of green sugar sprinkles. This is for the edges of the cupcakes.

4. Ice the cupcake

5. Roll the edges of the cupcake in the green sprinkles

6. Slice the marshmallows

Cut the marshmallows crosswise in 4 slices…..like this….

They automatically turn into petal shapes! And if you cut one kinda weird…that’s okay…still use it…I did! See?…..

7. Make the marshmallows pretty!

Be sure to use the side of the marshmallows what curves upward….does that make sense?

The concave side is the side you WANT to use:

The convex side is the side you DO NOT want to use:

Press the concave side of the marshmallow into the sprinkles/coconut until it is coated.

8. Put the petals onto the cupcake!

I added them 1 by 1 as I pressed them into the decoration, but you could just as easily decorate all the petals and then put them onto the cupcake.

9. Put a gumdrop in the middle!

When I was at Macey’s (the grocery store….not Macy’s the department store) with Shaylea and were looking for Smarties for the minion cupcakes I made yesterday, I also got gumdrops for these. I picked out the yellow and white ones from the bulk candy section – it was a bit of a challenge  to pick them out with the large scoop they had…but I managed!

YOUR CUPCAKES ARE DONE!!!

AND THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL!!!

And due to the fact that I love taking pictures of my cupcakes, here are some extra pictures….

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

