The Flat Earth Society

Really??

So I’m doing my reading for my Philosophy class. It’s called Intro to Ethics. The class, not the reading. The reading is called Ethical Pluralism: Prima Facie Duties and Ethical Particularism. It’s SURPRISINGLY interesting. Here’s the paragraph that I just read…

Second, we should consider the possibility, in non-moral contexts, of finding ourselves without any support for a claim that we rightly continue to believe. For instance, there may be nothing you can say that will convince a member of the Flat Earth Society of his mistake; no way to convince someone who believes in vampires that he is wrong; no clear path to show a stubborn person that nothing really can be all pink and all blue at the same time. You may be justified in your beliefs even if you can’t always convince those who disagree with you. That holds for moral as well as for non-moral beliefs. 

Right after I read “a member of the Flat Earth Society” I stopped reading…pondered…and then finished the paragraph. I then went to Google and searched “Flat Earth Society” (http://bit.ly/zoD6Ns)…because I cannot fathom the fact that people TODAY believe that the earth is FLAT. I went to their website (http://theflatearthsociety.org/cms/index.php) and looked around…I went to the About the Society page and read it all…it said that they discuss the theory…it didn’t say they believed it. It also talked about the guy who came up with the Flat Earth Society. But didn’t tell me that they ACTUALLY BELIEVE THE EARTH IS FLAT. So I kept looking around their website. They have t-shirts! http://theflatearthsociety.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=51&Itemid=69 And I kinda want one. Not because I believe the earth is flat. But because I love that there IS IN EXISTENCE a Flat Earth Society. 

I kept searching their website, and came across this…..”This website is dedicated to unraveling the true mysteries of the universe and demonstrating that the earth is flat and that Round Earth doctrine is little more than an elaborate hoax.”

And there you have it, ladies and gentlemen, flamingos and goats. Some people ACTUALLY BELIEVE THAT THE EARTH IS FLAT. 

Hey, I have yet to walk 36o degrees around the globe to prove that is is really 3D…but I believe it nonetheless. And I thought everyone nowadays did….just does to show that…that….I don’t even know what it shows. 

INTERESTING.

3 Comments

Filed under School, Thoughts

3 responses to “The Flat Earth Society

  1. I dunno what you’re talking about. Totally looks flat to me.

    People love any conspiracy theories. They love to think they’re being lied to. I still haven’t figured out why.

    • I really want to talk to a member of the Flat Earth Society…not to tell them why I think they’re wrong and give them evidence proving that the earth is not flat…but simply to listen to their opinion and see why they think the earth is flat. It’d be interesting.

      • Hahaha. Interesting note, many of the ancient Greeks realized that the earth was round. All you have to do is watch a boat sail off to realize that HEY the ocean is curved. They realized this around 500bce, almost 2000 years before Columbus.

Leave a Reply

