An Honorary Nicholas

This weekend I got to be an honorary Nicholas. Well, at least I felt like one!

On Friday, my awesome boss let me get off early, and I went to Sarah’s basketball game with Raspbana! They played Klein Collins….and lost. =( and we stayed to watch varsity play….Tomball lost again =( but COME ON! Get better refs, people!

When we got back, I actually had time to work on my biology class, then Sarah, Raspbana, and I watched Julie & Julia. I’m not sure how much of it I actually saw…all I remember is all three of us fell asleep…so we were sent to bed.

We left at 6:45 for Preston’s gymnastics meet. First we went and picked up Grandma Nicholas! I was so excited to finally get to go to one of Preston’s meets, because I’ve wanted to for EVER!  I LOVE gymnastics, and it was really great because Preston did so well! He improved on all his scored from last week (but one stayed the same).

OH! Also…Raspbana lost her voice, and nobody could find it ANYWHERE! So, needless to say, anything and everything she says is a whisper, and you have to be like 2 inches away from her to be able to hear…well not THAT close…but basically. With MY hearing, you have to be THAT close. It’s funny because everything she says feels like it’s a secret of the upmost importance because she says it so quietly! *whisper*whisper*

The second half of Saturday was Preston, Evan, Raspbana, and I…THE FUN BEGINS! (not that it hadn’t been happening already…) Sarah and Bishop were at Priest/Laurel Conference. Too bad for them, because we had fun! I got to live one of my dreams…throwing dishes around the kitchen to put them away. Preston and Evan had to unload the dishwasher while Raspbana took a “3-minute nap”, so I got an idea! We turned on some music and put away all the dangerous, breakable dishes nicely, and then with the rest, we tossed them to eachother and into cabinets and drawers…all in tune with the music….I’d always wanted to do it, so we did. It was fun, but we weren’t very good at it. We just need more practice, I guess!

THE EXTRA BEDROOM. Enough said.

Well, maybe not ENOUGH. Basically the reason why I was there………………..

Mess. Big.

AWESOME.

First we took everything out, then I GOT TO VACUUM!!! It was so awesome! I love vacuuming, especially when there’s a huge mess and a ton of crap to be vacuumed up….so I was in heaven. SERIOUSLY THE MOST AWESOME AND INTENSE VACUUM JOB I’VE DONE. And their vacuum is powerful. After I vacuumed the emptied-out extra bedroom, I went into the hallway….then into Sarah’s room…..and then decided I better stop because we had other things to do. SO then we got to move everything back in. Nice and neatly.

A few things were learned:

  1. The extra bedroom has a floor
  2. There’s a lot of buckets to go through and sort (a project for another weekend)
  3. Preston and Evan are just as helpful as you’d expect any boy their age to be
  4. The extra bedroom’s bathroom/closet is also a project for another weekend (I’M STOKED!!)
  5. Raspbana makes delicious malts. I just realized that I never finished mine…..it was BIG!
  6. And so, so much more.

I’m excited for the time to come when I get to help do the bucket-sorting and closet-cleaning!

I really enjoyed spending time with Evan and Preston. They are so fun to play with. I’m sad that I don’t get to spend any time with my own 5 brothers anymore. But when I’m with Evan and Preston, I am just so happy because it reminds me of my brothers, and how much fun we used to have. Evan is the best volunteer EVER and Preston is so incredibly sweet (plus, his head makes a great pillow in the car on the way home from a gymnastics meet)! I have come to see them as my own brothers.

And tonight will I venture out to Tomball once again to join the Nicholi. Good times. Good times.

Leave a comment

Filed under Happenings

Leave a Reply

