Minion Cupcakes

I made these cupcakes for Collin’s birthday….HAPPY BIRTHDAY YESTERDAY!

Have you seen the movie Despicable Me? Well I have, and I LOVE the minions.

Image

I found this idea on Pinterest….I use Pinterest for recipes and craft ideas…I love it!

Here is the link to the Pinterest one I used:

http://doitandhow.com/2011/11/08/minion-cupcakes/

And I also Googled (I love how that is a VERB now) to see what other minion cupcakes I could use for inspiration…here’s the ones I used:

http://www.google.com/imgres?hl=en&safe=active&sa=X&biw=1366&bih=624&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=FvAqGcA9eDqF7M:&imgrefurl=http://www.thedailybriellelee.com/2011/10/minion-cupcakes.html&docid=cDcErNKMgFQnQM&imgurl=http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-4SOKyrbmrMw/To-L3XmXosI/AAAAAAAAACM/Sa3_kW1y1Jg/s1600/033.JPG&w=1600&h=1200&ei=84tsT-_kCe7UiALxkZGECQ&zoom=1

http://www.google.com/imgres?hl=en&safe=active&sa=X&biw=1366&bih=624&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=LhT8JPI9uLyZsM:&imgrefurl=http://www.madisonhousechef.com/2011/05/minion-cupcakes.html&docid=Md__QFtXN-6jJM&imgurl=http://notabene.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341cb68453ef01538ea9df0f970b-pi&w=425&h=290&ei=84tsT-_kCe7UiALxkZGECQ&zoom=1

I like to give credit to the sites I got the idea from….

I have a hard time coming up with cute cupcake ideas on my own…but if I see one I like, I can usually replicate it!

The recipe from Pinterest had Smarties for the eyes…but when I went to the store with my friend Shaylea, we determined that it is not worth it to buy a bag of Smarties. Why? Because there are only 2-3 white Smarties in each little Smarties pack…SO NOT WORTH IT. So we opted for white chocolate chips instead. 

So I made the cupcakes. I used snowman cupcake liners, because that’s what I had!

Then I made the icing. The BEST ICING EVER. I’ll post a how-to later.

For these minion cupcakes, here’s what you will need:

  • Cupcakes
  • Icing
  • Twinkies (1 Twinkie = 2 minion cupcakes)
  • Chocolate sprinkles (the cylindrical kind, not the round kind)
  • White chocolate chips (or white Smarties)
  • Black icing to draw with ( I bought 2 tubes, unsure of how much I would need. But I ONLY NEEDED ONE tube!)

1. Make the cupcakes

First I made cupcakes. Because I am in Provo, UT, I have to make sure I alter them for high altitude…..I have made the mistake of NOT doing so, and I have not forgotten since then. Also, I always use Funfetti Pillsbury cake mix for my cupcakes….unless someone wants chocolate. But I don’t like chocolate cupcakes. I like Funfetti. 

ALSO I always spray the cupcake lines with cooking spray (canola oil) before I add the batter. 

Image

2. Unwrap a Twinkie and cut it in half with a sharp knife. 

Make sure you don’t just cut straight down…saw back and forth….

Image

That was my first attempt. Later on, I was able to get a much cleaner cut

Image

3. Make a hole for the eyes

Image

Image

I didn’t think of this until about halfway through…when the eyes started falling out:

Image

If I had used smarties, I am sure I would not have had that problem. But due to the fact that the white chocolate chips are not flat on the back, they needed somewhere for the point to go. The hole I made seemed to remedy that problem. 

To make the hole, simply poke the knife where you want the hole to go, and then spin the knife so it makes a hole wide enough for the point of the white chocolate chip. 

4. Put the eyes on.

Image

Sorry the picture is so blurry, but it still shows what to do. Get a little bit of icing on the tip of the white chocolate chip. That will help it stay in when the icing hardens.

Image

The minion-to-be on the left had a little too much icing behind his eyes…try to avoid that. 

5. Draw on your desired features.

Image

I tried to put an outline around the goggles…not my best idea. I didn’t have the right kind of icing for that. In the original minion cupcake picture I saw, they had gray icing around the goggles, which I thought looked really great. Perhaps if I had an icing piping thing, then I could have done it. But I decided to do the rest of them with no outline around the goggles.

6. Ice the cupcake

Please do not be Amelia Bedelia and actually ICE the cupcake with frozen water. What I mean here is to put the icing onto the cupcake =)

7. Place the minion onto the cupcake

I kinda pushed him down into the icing and even spun him left and right a little in order to make sure he stayed put.Image

8. Add the hair.

Image

I poured out some of the chocolate sprinkles onto my wax paper work space and picked out the longer ones to use for hair. Just poke them into the top! I did 3 on each, but you could easily do more or less depending on what minion look you are going for.

Image

And that’s how you make minion cupcakes!

Here are some additional pictures, simply because I love taking pictures of my cupcakes.

Image

Image

Image

Did you notice the one that is drooling? Let me tell you about him…

Image

I don’t know what happened! I guess the gel icing was extra runny that time! I could not stop laughing! Every time I looked at it, I laughed again. And even if I simply THOUGH about this little guy, I laughed. Out loud.

And it just got worse….

Image

I texted Raspbana a picture of the minion…and of it when it was worse as well…and she said “You can tell collin that is him as a minion, a really old minion falling apart! :-)”

So I told Collin that it is him as an old decrepit minion.

Still, each time I SEE or THINK ABOUT this little guy, I laugh. Out loud.

If you have any questions about these adorable cupcakes, please feel free to ask!

Image

Image

P.S. Twinkies are DISGUSTING. But they make cute minion cupcakes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

